Archives for category: Coachella 2012

I posted Kaskade’s Coachella live set earlier today and like most of you today was the first time I heard the entire set. Conflicting set times is the worst thing about music festivals and I passed up the American all star for this man, Sub Focus. While Kaskade was dropping Progressive bombs in the Sahara Tent, Sub Focus was busy blowing out his bass. Sub Focus first premiered his vocal Anthem on Mistajam’s Radio 1 way back in January. Until now all we’ve heard is previews and the Laidback Luke remix. ‘Out Of The Blue’ is the debut single from the highly anticipated sophomore album, which is expected to be released sometime this fall. The track features vocals by Alice Gold and Sub Focus’s notorious breakbeat and syncopated percussion.

An infectious and irresistible slice of Drum & Bass.

Bonus Anthem: Before ‘Out Of The Blue’, there was ‘Falling Down’. Get to know London’s legend.

Kaskade returned to his weekly #KMM (Kaskade Music Monday) with a new mashup that was nothing short of epic. Kaskade’s consistent effort to create some of the most addicitng mashups and release them for free is just one of the many reasons Ryan Raddon has become one of the most adored artists in electronic music. On Monday he laid the vocals from ‘Call Out’ over Sandro Silva and Quintino’s 2011 Anthem, ‘Epic’.

That was Monday. Today Kaskade released a live recording from his Coachella set. This is the only set too get recorded over the two weekend festival and was by far one of the most memorable sets. There is definitely a noticable difference between a great DJ and a great producer during a live perfromance. Kaskade is both. His transitions are seamless and Anthem after Anthem is blended perfectly.

Track List:
01. Kaskade – Eyes (Intro Edit with Swanky Tunes Mix) 
02. Kaskade (feat. Skylar Grey) – Room For Happiness (Gregori Klosman Mix) 
03. Kaskade vs Nicky Romero – Angel On My Stronger (Kaskade Mash Up) 
04. R3hab & Swanky Tunes – Sending My Love (Kaskade Mix Mash) 
05. Kaskade vs. Franz Novotny – Be Still Big Bang (Kaskade Mash Up) 
06. Kaskade vs. Tommy Trash – Empty Streets Cascade (Kaskade Mash Up) 
07. Kaskade vs. Swedish House Mafia – Fire In Your Antidote (Kaskade Mash Up) 
08. Kaskade vs. Dada Life – Dynasty Noise (Kaskade Mash Up) 
09. Feenixpawl & Ivan Gough – In My Mind (Axwell Mix) 
10. Kaskade vs Nicky Romero – Turn It Down Toulouse (Kaskade Mash Up) 
11. Kaskade & Deadmau5 VS. Swanky Tunes, Matisse & Sadko – Move For Me The Legend (Kaskade Mash Up) 
12. Dirty South & Thomas Gold – Eyes Wide Open 
13. Kaskade – Llove – Dada Life Remix 
14. Kaskade vs. Hard Rock Sofa – 4AM Quasar 
15. Kaskade & Skrillex – Lick It 
16. Kaskade vs. Sandro Silva & Quintino – Call Out Big Bang (Kaskade Mash Up) 
17. Kaskade (feat. Neon Trees) – Lessons In Love (Extended Mix) 
18. Kaskade vs. Deniz Koyu – It’s You, It’s Hertz (Kaskade Mash Up) 
19. Kaskade vs. Qulinez – Stars Align Troll (Kaskade Mash Up) 
20. Kaskade & Adam K – Raining 
21. Deadmau5 & Kaskade – I Remember (Strobelite Edit)

Kaskade’s busy week continued with the full release of tour dates and tickets for his upcoming Freaks Of Nature tour.  If a stellar Ultra performance and rumors of unprecedented stage production weren’t convincing enough, maybe the supporting acts will help. Alongside Kaskade will be; Fareoh, Alvin Risk, Treasure Fingers and Le Castle Vania. The highlight of the tour will be Kaskade’s stop in Los Angeles at Staples Center on July 27th. This will be Kakades’ first show in L.A. since 2010 and the first ever EDM event at Staples Center. Click HERE to purchase tickets.

So it is pretty much unanimous that Calvin Harris had the best set at Coachella. Just thinking about it makes me want to mob out to the desert and hop the fences for a second round. For an hour straight Calvin dropped the classics and a host of brand new Anthems. Opening with ‘Feels So Close’ and Rihanna’s live performance sent the crowd wild and ‘We Found Love’ has never hit harder. Among the new Anthems was this one, ‘Only The Horses’. The track is by the American band Scissor Sisters, but was co-produced by Calvin Harris and Alex Ridha of Boys Noize. ‘Only The Horses’ is the second promotional single from their (Scissor Sisters) upcoming studio album titled Magic Hour.

Anthem status! I have the chills.

The good news; Dada Life finally released one of their most anticipated and demanded tracks ever. The bad news; they were out-done twice by two remixes. The track first appeared at EDC in 2010 and since then it has been making crowds go bananas. This time the Swedish fuzz masters jumped on the auto-tune bandwagon, with a vocal line that has stirred a frenzy amid Dada fans. However, the rest of the track is full of moderate thrills and re-occurring sounds. Your forced to ask yourself what really makes this track so great. The vocal auto tune or the trademark Dada synths? If your leaning towards the vocal auto-tune then I can almost guarantee you will favor the remixes.

While the Cazzette remix was released amid Dada Life’s Musical Freedom compilation last month, the newest release, sees a remix from dirty Dutch king pin Chuckie. Chuckie rolls with the similar style we have heard from his recent studio releases. Chuckie’s remix rounds the package off with a unique take on the original, delivering a hard-hitting merge of distorted leads and grinding bass.

Steve Angello unloads this little guy with a huge build and even larger drop.  Can’t wait to hear it live in a festival setting (COACHELLA 2012!).  Download and enjoy…

Download: Steve Angello – Yeah (Original Mix)

SHM fan’s, as you may know, Masquerade Motel Miami 2012 tickets were supposed to go on sale today.  Unfortunately, due to circumstances “beyond their control,” the ticket on-sale date has been pushed back.  On their YouTube account, they released an apology but also a little something to make it all better.  Take a look…

M83’s music has always possessed an ambient, thought provoking, dream like tone. There soft lyrics and smooth synths has always left a lot of room for remixing. In the beginning of 2011 Datsik took their euphoric masterpiece ‘We Own The Sky’ and turned it into a “Mellow step” wonderland. Today its about the legendary Eric Prydz, remixing the ethereal hit ‘Midnight City’.

This remix is another illustration of what Prydz does best. He speeds up the tempo, giving it the uplifting progessive house feel that he has mastered over the years. Perfect.

Download: Midnight City (Eric Prydz Remix) – M83

M83 released a double album this year titled, Hurry Up, We’re Dreaming, On it was ‘Midnight City’. Don’t miss M83 at Coachella this year. M83 live is a spectacle you don’t want to miss.

I linked Datsik’s remix of ‘We Own The Sky’ above, but also check out my favorite by Udachi.